Join Us at Malice Domestic

A few of us Chicks on the Case bloggers are excited to attend Malice Domestic 2022 this week! If you’re going, please come find us! Where will we be? Glad you asked: đŸ«–Friday 10:00-11:45 am Malice Go Round: It’s Like Speed Dating, But With AuthorsBecky Clark, Jennifer Chow 2:00-2:50 pm Blurring Genres: Blending a Cozy with Romance? With Fantasy?Moderator: Elizabeth CrowensPaula Gail Benson, Kaye George, Leslie Karst, … Continue reading Join Us at Malice Domestic

Chicks News Flash – Two Giveaways!

Hi all! Just a quick email to alert you to two giveaways featuring Chicks on the Case Authors. The first books in Ellen Byron and Jennifer J. Chow’s new series – Bayou Book Thief, Book #1 in Ellen’s Vintage Cookbook Mysteries and Death By Bubble Tea, Book #1 in Jen’s LA Night Market Mysteries – are included in the this great Spring Reading: Mystery Edition … Continue reading Chicks News Flash – Two Giveaways!

Left Coast Crime 2022

  If you’re heading to Left Coast Crime this week, please say hello!  We are so excited to see everyone… and here’s where you can find us. ☀Thursday 9:00 am Author Speed-Dating Jennifer Chow and Leslie Karst 3:45 pm The Liars Panel Johnny Shaw, Steve Brewer, Ellen Byron/Maria DiRico, Susanna Calkins, Wanda M. Morris 8:30 pm Toastmaster Kellye Garrett Hosts Game Night Ellen Byron/Maria DiRico, Marco Carocari, … Continue reading Left Coast Crime 2022

Guest Chick: Gigi Pandian

We Chicks have a very special treat for you today: magical mystery author, locked-room expert and our good friend Gigi Pandian, whose latest Under Lock & Skeleton Key has just hit the shelves. Take it away, Gigi! Thanks so much to Lisa and Ellen for inviting me to join the Chicks today! Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about something that’s not a new idea, … Continue reading Guest Chick: Gigi Pandian

The Lessons We Learn

Today, we bring you an interview with our wonderful friend Liz Milliron, author of the Laurel Highlands Mystery series and the Homefront Mysteries, who kindly agreed to answer some questions about her latest book, The Lessons We Learn (coming soon)! Please join the Chicks in giving her the warmest welcome! What made you interested in writing about World War II? It wasn’t so much that I … Continue reading The Lessons We Learn

New Release: How to Book a Murder

How to Book a Murder (Starlit Bookshop Mystery #1) is out today from Crooked Lane Books! What It’s About: Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Kate Carlisle, in award-winning author Cynthia Kuhn’s series debut, small-town bookseller and literary event planner Emma Starrs is out to close the book on a killer intent on crashing the party. To help save her family’s floundering Colorado bookstore, Starlit Bookshop, newly minted Ph.D. … Continue reading New Release: How to Book a Murder

A Chicks on the Case E-ppearance!

When we discovered four Chicks had books launching in November and December, we decided we had to celebrate! Cue bookstore and event organizer Creating Conversations hosting a special panel: Chicks on the Case Celebration, featuring Becky, Cynthia, Ellen, and Jen. Join us for laughs and a fun four-way chat on Tuesday at 8:30 EST, 7:30 Central, and 5:30 PST. Click here to register. Hope to … Continue reading A Chicks on the Case E-ppearance!

Happy Book Birthday, Jennifer!

Hooray! It’s the official release day for Mimi Lee Cracks the Code! The third book in the Sassy Cat Mystery series has been on the following lists: Best Upcoming Cozy Mysteries for the Second Half of 2021 (Book Riot) All the Best Books Being Released in November (BuzzFeed) The 13 Best New Mystery and Thriller Books of November 2021 (POPSUGAR) ABOUT THE BOOK: When murder … Continue reading Happy Book Birthday, Jennifer!

Happy Book Birthday, Ellen/Maria!

It’s Release Day for It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Murder, the 3rd book in the hilarious Catering Hall Mystery series, written by our very own Ellen Byron under her pen name, Maria DiRico! You can pick it up at your local bookstore or buy it through the links below. Congratulations, Ellen! IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE MURDER Astoria, Queens, is decorated … Continue reading Happy Book Birthday, Ellen/Maria!

Shameless v. Apologetic

The following statement may make people who know me snort a beverage out their nose, but I’m really uncomfortable promoting my work. The reason for the disbelief on the part of my friends is the blaring, may I say ballsy, “Shameless Shilling Campaign” I create for each of my book releases. Ironically, my discomfort with promotion is the whole reason I created this tongue-in cheek … Continue reading Shameless v. Apologetic

Gone to Malice 2021

The Chicks are attending More Than Malice (July 14-17)!  Some of us will be at the Author Speed Dating events, and our own Ellen Byron is nominated for an Agatha Award (Best Contemporary Novel)–huge congratulations and cheers!–and you can watch the recorded nominee panels here. The More Than Malice schedule offers information about the many wonderful panels happening this week if you are attending. Also, if you … Continue reading Gone to Malice 2021