Guest Chick: Denise Swanson

Jennifer here, offering a warm welcome to Denise Swanson! She’s here to share about the fascinating hunt for great names. Thanks, Denise! The Name Game I’ve always been fascinated with names. Maybe because I always hated my first name. Granted, Denise is better than the one my parents first considered—Ernestina after my father. But I would have much preferred a more elegant name like Kathryn … Continue reading Guest Chick: Denise Swanson

The Most Inane – or Most Useful Writing Tip Ever. You decide.

Much as I despise admitting it, words don’t always come to me as quickly as they once did. There’s nothing like having a word on the tip of your tongue, then have it dart away and zip around your brain like a fly trying to dodge a swatter. Recently I endured a particularly bad bout of what-is-that-damn-word-I-had-it-a-minute-ago-and-it-went-away-and-then-came-back-and-then-went-away-again-itis. The little devil of a word taunted me, … Continue reading The Most Inane – or Most Useful Writing Tip Ever. You decide.

Happy Book Birthday, Ellen Byron!

It’s Release Day for Bayou Book Thief, the first book in Ellen Byron’s new series, The Vintage Cookbook Mysteries! Says the Library Journal, “Fans of Byron’s award-winning ‘Cajun Country’ mysteries will enjoy her return to New Orleans with an engaging, fun cast of characters.” Congratulations, Ellen! You can pick up a copy through the link below. And read to the end of this post for … Continue reading Happy Book Birthday, Ellen Byron!

Guest Chick: Krysti Meyer

Jennifer here. Please give a warm welcome to Krysti Meyer, a cozy mystery podcaster and an award-winning author! Here’s a fun conversation about her new Get Cozy podcast: How did you get into podcasting? I’ve been a fan of cozy mysteries ever since the pandemic started. They’ve been such a delightful escape from the serious issues we’ve been facing globally in the past few years. Before … Continue reading Guest Chick: Krysti Meyer

Guest Chick: Jacqueline Vick

Hi, Ellen here! I e-met Jacqueline Vick through Dana Kaye’s Your Breakout Book and we became fast friends – to the point where I have to remind myself we have yet to meet in person! I love her post on where writers find unexpected idea inspiration… Where Writers Get Their Ideas. It May Surprise You. One of the questions I’m most often asked about writing … Continue reading Guest Chick: Jacqueline Vick

Guest Chick: Olivia Blacke

Jennifer here, and it’s always a pleasure to welcome Olivia Blacke to the blog. Has she got a treat for you today! Olivia shares about all the fun tropes that can be found in cozy mysteries! Cozy Mystery Tropes By Olivia Blacke Cozies, like every genre, have their tropes and conventions – situations and plot devices that are so synonymous with cozy mysteries that they … Continue reading Guest Chick: Olivia Blacke

Guest Chick: Rosie Genova

The Chicks are happy to welcome Rosie Genova with her delicious debut Chicks post. Get a load of that cookie platter – yum! Early one dark December morning I opened my eyes and squinted at the clock on my nightstand—4:50. I blinked, shook my head, and had one sort-of-coherent thought: Why is that oven up so high? Yes, I even think about food in my … Continue reading Guest Chick: Rosie Genova

Sally’s Back!

For those of you wondering what the heck has been going on with Sally Solari, her father Mario, her ex-boyfriend/best pal Eric, and all the others in my culinary mystery series (the last of which—Murder from Scratch—came out over two years ago), I have some exciting news: Sally is back! Yes, I’ve just signed a two-book deal with Severn House Publishers to continue the Sally … Continue reading Sally’s Back!

New Release: How to Book a Murder

How to Book a Murder (Starlit Bookshop Mystery #1) is out today from Crooked Lane Books! What It’s About: Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Kate Carlisle, in award-winning author Cynthia Kuhn’s series debut, small-town bookseller and literary event planner Emma Starrs is out to close the book on a killer intent on crashing the party. To help save her family’s floundering Colorado bookstore, Starlit Bookshop, newly minted Ph.D. … Continue reading New Release: How to Book a Murder

A Chicks on the Case E-ppearance!

When we discovered four Chicks had books launching in November and December, we decided we had to celebrate! Cue bookstore and event organizer Creating Conversations hosting a special panel: Chicks on the Case Celebration, featuring Becky, Cynthia, Ellen, and Jen. Join us for laughs and a fun four-way chat on Tuesday at 8:30 EST, 7:30 Central, and 5:30 PST. Click here to register. Hope to … Continue reading A Chicks on the Case E-ppearance!